LAGPA Conference 2019

Sep 09 - Sep 10, 2019

8 AM - 6 PM

Ecuador - Quito

LAGPA Conference 2019


The Latin American Group for Public Administration (LAGPA), a regional expression of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences (IIAS), organizes, sponsored by the Instituto de Altos Estudios Nacionales (IAEN) - Ecuador, the Universidad del Valle de Cali - Colombia, and supported by Fundação Getulio Vargas - Brazil, the 2019 LAGPA Annual Conference, to be held in Quito, Ecuador, on September 2nd and 3rd, 2019. The themes to be discussed during the event are to be defined by LAGPA President and the Local Organizer Committee (LOC).


Event organizers

The Latin American Group for Public Administration (LAGPA), founded in 2010, is a Regional group of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences with its Secretariat based at the Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

LAGPA gathers scholars and practitioners willing to discuss experiences and trends on Public Administration of the Latin American and the Caribbean region. LAGPA was constituted to promote the capacity to govern attached to the Democratic State of Law that permanently seek the welfare of societies in the countries of the region and with the aim of promoting administrative culture in government institutions and public servants in Latin America and the Caribbean, according to its idiosyncrasies and educational and technological possibilities. Our philosophy is precise, yet complex: to turn into a key promoter of administrative culture at a regional level, and to contribute to the promotion of the IIAS values and activities. It is our mission to make possible the incorporation of new members into the IIAS Family. It is a person based network completely aware of the need of a regional platform where we are able to exchange perspectives, experiences and practices –whether successful or not – and to have an academic forum where specific topics are voiced.

The IAEN, the State Postgraduate University, fulfils the mission of training and providing continuing education, mainly, to public servants; investigate and generate strategic thinking with a prospective vision on the State, government and public administration; develop and implement knowledge, methods and techniques related to the planning, design, coordination, direction, execution and evaluation of policies and public management.

Universidad del Valle's mission is to train at the top level, through the generation, transformation, application and dissemination of knowledge in the fields of science, technology, technology, arts, humanities and culture in general. Considering its status as a state university, autonomous and with a vocation for social service, it assumes commitments that can not be delegated with the development of the region, conservation and respect for the environment and the construction of a more just and democratic society. 


Steering Committee

LAGPA President, Edgar Varela Barrios - Colombia - Universidad del Valle. Past President, Bianor Cavalcanti - Brazil - Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV).
Boris Peña Fortes - Cuba - Ministry of Higher Education.
Christian Asinelli - Argentina - National University San Martin (UNSAM).
Freddy Mariñez Navarro - Mexico – El Colegio de Jalisco.
Luis Solari - Peru - Sedes Sapientiae Catholic University.
Nuria Cunill-Grau - Chile - University of Los Lagos.
Ex officio: Geert Bouckaert (Belgium)
Ex officio: Sofiane Sahraoui (Tunisia)
Executive Secretary: César Rojas Alfonzo (Venezuela)




Visas for Non-Working Stays Up to 90 Days (Visa 12-X) Ecuador welcomes tourists and travelers from every country. Citizens of the United States, Canada and most European countries traveling to Ecuador for tourism, business or to study do not require a visa unless they expect to stay in Ecuador for more than 90 days in one calendar year (that is, 90 days adding every entry in one year) or if they are drawing income from an Ecuadorian source.

Specific Requirements:

- Valid passport for more than 6 months.

- Return ticket (for air, land or sea travel).

- Proof of economic means to support yourself during your stay in Ecuador (may be requested by Immigration authorities upon arrival).

Nationals of the following countries require a visa to enter Ecuador for any reason and should approach the Consulate of Ecuador in their home country before traveling (list may change without notice): Algeria, Bangladesh, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Lybia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Palestine Authority, Panama, People's Republic of China, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tunisia, and Vietnam. Foreigners traveling on a 12-X visa may not take employment in Ecuador. Visa 12-X status cannot be changed in Ecuador.