Thursday, Jan 18, 2020

Bruxelle Belgique

Allan Rosenbaum

ICAPA Chairman


He is Director of the Institute for Public Management and Community Service and Professor of Public Administration at Florida International University. He is a former editor of the Policy Studies Review and a past President of both IASIA and the American Society for Public Administration. He is the only US member on the 24 member United Nations Committee of Experts on Public Administration.

Rachel Emas

ICAPA Executive Director


She serves as non-voting Executive Director of IASIA’s International Commission on Accreditation of Public Administration Education and Training Programs. She is is a current PhD Candidate at Florida International University and has served as Associate Editor of the Green Labor Journal.

Bernard Boucault

Commission Members


He formerly served as Director of the Ecole Nationale d’Administration, the French National School of Public Administration and had previously served as a Prefect in the French Government. Currently he serves as Prefect of the Police for the region of Paris, France.

Taco Brandsen

Commission Members

The Netherlands

He is Secretary-General of the European Association of Public Administration Accreditation (EAPAA) and Professor of Comparative Public Administration at Radboud University Nijmegen. He is a board member of the European Group of Public Administration (EGPA), the International Research Society on Public Management (IRSPM) and the EMES Research Network and the Dutch Association for Public Administration.

Walter Broadnax

Commission Members


He is currently Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University in the United States. Previously, he has headed the New York State Civil Service Commission, served as Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services in the administration of President William Clinton, served as President of Clark-Atlanta University and as Dean of the School of Public Administration at American University. He is a past President of the American Society for Public Administration and the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration.

Cristina Diaz

Commission Members


She is Director of the Department of Public Administration and the Policy and Management Center of the National University of Rosario in Argentina. She is the current President of the Inter-American Network of Public Administration Education (INPAE), which includes approximately 40 member institutions from throughout Latin America. She has previously taught at the Central University of Nicaragua and various other institutions in Latin America and has been associated as a researcher with the University of Milan, Italy and Southern Illinois University in the United States.

Laila El Baradei

Commission Members


She is the Acting Dean for the School of Global Affairs and Public Policy (GAPP) and Professor of Public Administration at the Public Policy and Administration Department of the American University in Cairo (A.U.C.), Egypt. She received her Ph.D. in public administration from Cairo University, and was a faculty member at the Public Administration Department of Cairo University for over fourteen years before moving to AUC. In the mid-nineties, she worked for several years at the Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency managing the Donors Coordination Unit.

Polya Katsamunska

Commission Members


She is Associate Professor at the University of National and World Economy in Sofia, Bulgaria and has written about and is highly knowledgeable in the area of national accreditation activity. She has lectured on public administration reform activities at universities in Europe, South America and the United States and is the author of numerous articles on that subject.

John-Mary Kauzya

Commission Members


He is Chief of the Public Administration Capacity Branch in the Division for Public Administration and Development Management of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations and, at one time, was Deputy Director of the Uganda Management Institute. On behalf of the UN, he has advised major government leaders in many parts of the world and has lectured at universities and management training institutes throughout the world.

Pan Suk Kim

Commission Members

South Korea

He is the immediate Past President of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences (IIAS), position he held from 2010 to 2013. He is currently the Dean of the College of Government and Business and an Underwood Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at Yonsei University in South Korea. He was a member of IASIA’s Board of Management for several years and served as a Vice Chairperson of the UN Committee of Experts on Public Administration (UNCEPA). He is currently interim president of the Asian Association for Public Administration (AAPA).

Margaret Kobia

Commission Members


She is currently Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Kenya. Previously she served as Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Kenya Institute of Administration. She has taught public administration at various universities in Kenya and has been a leader of the African public administration community.

Barbara Kudrycka

Commission Members


She is a member of the European Parliament and a former member of the Polish Parliament and recently served for six years as Minister of Science and Higher Education in the government of Poland. She has previously served as Rector at the Bialystok School of Public Administration in Poland. She is a past President of both the Polish Public Administration Education Association and the Network of Schools and Institutes of Public Administration of Central and Eastern Europe (NISPAcee).

Jerry Kuye

Commission Members

South Africa

He was until recently the Director of the School of Public Administration at the University of Pretoria in Pretoria, South Africa, a position which he held for a decade. He is the editor of the African Journal of Public Affairs. He has previously been a faculty member at the University of Manitoba, Canada; the University of Zimbabwe and the University of Capetown. He has also served as a policy advisor to the Canadian and South African governments.

Antoinette Samuel

Commission Members


She currently serves as Deputy Executive Director of the National League of Cities and was formerly Executive Director of the American Society for Public Administration, the largest and oldest public administration organization in the United States. Prior to that, she served as a senior staff member at the National League of Cities of the United States.

Datuk Gabriel William

Commission Members


He is a past President of the International Association of Schools and Institutes of Administration and has served in numerous senior governmental positions for the government of Malaysia including as Training Director for a large state government. Currently he serves as President of a large Malaysian non-governmental organization.